Old Friends are Good Friends

I love people. I really do. But often I am faced with how often people in my life are forced to leave or who just fade away from my life. But today I was able to catch up with one of those people’s who I thought had completely left my life. We’ll call him James for privacy reasons.

James and I met in freshman year and he and I hit it off right away. Honestly, for a while I thought I liked him until he basically came out to me by telling me about a boy he liked. And the thing is, when he did tell me I wasn’t mad or upset. I immediately started gossiping about other boys with him and we grew so incredibly close.

He also was one of the few people who knew about my depression and well my suicidal thoughts at that time. (Needless to say, freshman year sucked for me.) But James was there for me and I loved him and cherished his friendship greatly. But then one day he decided it would be best if he changed schools. My school is incredibly difficult so this happened often, but it still hurt the day he left. For a while after we did remain friends but like most sort of long distance friendships, it faded. We still followed each other on instagram and we liked each other’s Facebook photos, but there’d wasn’t any serious communication. Until this morning.

I recently changed my profile picture on Facebook to a prom photo (obviously) and he liked it and commented out of the blue demanding that we see each other and catch up. And I so happily obliged.

We got coffee and sat and talked for an hour at that same local coffee shop that I’ve ranted about before. We laughed and talked about our relationships, he just came out of a pretty bad break up, and had ourselves a little pity party before we went on to talk about the happier things in our lives.

It was so nice to just TALK to him. James was always a sweet guy but his personality has just continued to blossom and develop into a truly charming and bright individual with so many opportunities before him. He’s a huge Color Guardie and apparently he gets to go on tour- he’s so proud of me and my novel writing and how well I’ve been dealing with my breakup- he apparently adores RuPaul’s Drag Race and made me watch a few scenes just to get me hooked (which I pretty much am now, thanks:P)- and and and.

I could go on.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, maybe all of my worry about losing my friends is for nothing. I mean I will lose friends. But the really important ones, the ones who I really care about and who really care about me, they’ll come back. They might be in and out, making guest appearances in my never ending television show of a life, but maybe they’ll come back like James.

I really hope that is the case. Friends like James are true friends. And over the years I guess I’ll see who are my true friends. That has to count for something I suppose.

-Hope xoxo

Posted on May 5, 2014, in Hope's Commentary and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment